Happy womens day


International Women’s Day (IWD) is marked on the 8th of March every year. It is a major day of global celebration of women. In different regions the focus of the celebrations ranges from general celebration of respect, appreciation and love towards women to a celebration for women’s economic, political and social achievements. The first IWD was observed on 28 February 1909 in the United States following a declaration by the Socialist Party of America.

Belgaum has women force managing the helm of affairs ZP CEO Ekroop Kaur and SP Sonia Narang have brought accolade with their remarkable performances, while Ashwini Patil is successively leading the ZP as its president.

Ekroop Kaur got a award for implementing the National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme (NREGS) effectively.

Sonia Narang, has become an icon and she has been very successful in maintaining law and order throughout her tenure. She also recently was awarded by the state.

This is not all for the women, there are few more who are making their mark in Belgaum TP president Mala Birmoti, Belgaum City Corporation deputy mayor Jyoti Bhavikatti and DySP of Belgaum (rural) Ashwini.

AAB wishes all its women readers a very Happy Women’s day.

This site has covered a few women stalwarts and many more will be covered in times to come. We all proud of you.

Anita Rodricks – Karunalaya

Dr Indira Hinduja – Test Tube baby fame is from Belgaum

Dr. Neeta Baporikar – Management guru

Madhuri M. Shanbhag – Principal

Shobhan Bantwal – Author


To get Instant and Live updates from AllAboutBelgaum please save this number 73386 16624 and send a msg on WhatsApp START AAB.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here