Vivekarao Patil and Kavatagimath win MLC seats


Karnataka Vidhana Parishad or MLC election results have come as a huge relief for the ruling Congress party in the state but not in Belagavi Local bodies seats.
Vivekarao V Patil (Independent) got 3029 Votes and Mahantesh M Kavatagimath (BJP) got 2951 votes won the two seats. Sitting MLC Veerkumar Patil of the Congress could not retain his seat and he got 1885 votes. 

Vivekarao Patil
Vivekarao Patil
Mahantesh M Kavatagimath (
Mahantesh M Kavatagimath



Vivekrao, who claimed to have been instrumental in getting nearly 2000 members elected to gram panchayats in the district placed him in good stead. District in-charge minister Satish Jarkiholi had clarified earlier that Vivekrao Patil, who filed nomination for legislative council elections as an independent candidate, is not a Congress rebel.
Vivekrao Patil had filed nomination as an independent candidate after Congress denied him giving ticket. Jarkiholi said basically Vivekrao is not a Congress member hence there is no question arises of giving him ticket.


To get Instant and Live updates from AllAboutBelgaum please save this number 73386 16624 and send a msg on WhatsApp START AAB.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here