Voting ends on January 21, 2014  and winner would be declared on January 28, 2014.

AAB’s Belgaumite of the Year 2013, the most credible award of the city is back for the 4th consecutive year. The award recognizes the Belgaumites whose contribution to the city in a calendar year has strengthened the foundation of our society.

[box] [poll id=”2″][/box]

moin junedi Belgaum
[box]Moin Junedi – has made it to the India book of records as the “youngest swimmer with Locomotive disability”. Moin suffers from Osteogenesis imperfecta (OI and sometimes known as brittle bone disease).This young lad is a living representation of sheer grit in the face of adversity. IWAS World Junior Games 2013 held at Puerto Rico, South America He has been honoured with special award and a Gold Medal at the auspicious hands of the President of the Iwas World Junior Games 2013. Also Met Sharukh Khan this year which was his dream.[/box]

ronit more belgaum
[box]Ronit More
 – Played for Chennai super kings in IPL. He was selected for BCCI Specialist camp for u-25. He represented Karnataka A for CK Nayadu trophy and got 15 wickets in 3 games and currently playing for Karnataka Ranji team and got to play 2 games in which he got 11wkts with one 5wkt haul against Haryana. [/box]

Dr.Nitin Khot – launched 8 different class action suits (or P.I.L.’s) against Cantonment Belgaum and finally in 2013 the High Court stayed the collection of fees from all vehicles passing through Belgaum Cantonment. He started a campaign to ‘Save Vaccine Depot’ after District administration in February 2013 decided to relocate the Indoor Stadium and ‘Laser-Tech Park’ inside the Vaccine Depot. He worked relentlessly on the case relating to Army which was claiming privileged access to 7000 acres of land till finally the Government of Karnataka canceled the lease of all this land to the Army. He started a campaign against ‘Resumption’ – and also decided to activate Section 44 of the Cantonment Act 2006 whereby all meetings of the Cantonment Board should be kept open to the public. Ministry of Defence issued orders to all 5 Commands that on no account were LMA’s (Local Military Authorities) to issue any letter to any bungalow owner for resumption. Belgaum Cantonment, declaring these as “Restricted Areas” matter was taken to the floor of the Lok Sabha, confirmed that no such information had been given to the Station Commander.  [/box]

Umesh Kalghatgi – Represented India as a Team Coach at the 2013 World IWAS Junior Games held at Puerto Rico, South America during 6th August to 14th August 2013 where in India bagged 9 medals. Conducted successfully 13th Invitational Age Group Swimming Championship for the states of Karnataka, Maharashtra and Goa where in about 500 swimmers participated. Conducted successfully 12th Swimming Coaching Camp for Differently Abled Children in the month of February. Till now five differently abled swimmers represented India at various International Competitions and won totally 42 medals to the Nation. Moin Junedi, Raghvendra Anvekar and Atish Jadhav all differently abled who were trained by him who won honors in international events.  [/box]

Deepak & Dinesh Dhadoti of Servocontrols India Pvt.Ltd. – for taking Belgaum on the global map of aerospace industry and the only company in India for Design Aerospace Standard AS9100 Rev B company. His dedicated team at Servo Controls has put Belgaum on the world map with their contribution towards aviation and missile technology.  [/box]

Anand Chitti – is a snake lover has now caught over 10188 snakes as on January 09, 2014. In the year 2013 he received 2244 calls for which he traveled 27724 kms in all and rescued 1136 snakes which also includes the saving of 56 baby snakes. He also gave 17 lectures in the year gone by.  [/box]

Selection Process

Level – 1: Editorial Board draws the list of Nominees

Level – 2: More nominations are called from the public

Level – 3: ‘The Jury’ ratifies the list of Nominees

The AAB jury selected persons. After receiving nominations, the jury evaluated and finalized the nominees. The jury consisted of people from various backgrounds and included professionals in the field of IT, recruitment, banking, academics, Painters, Photographers, Chartered Accountants, reporters, businessmen and senior citizens.

Level – 4: The Citizens Vote
The editorial board will also select one winner for the Lifetime achievement category.

Conditions: All the decisions taken by Allaboutbelgaum.com and its jury will be final and binding.

Leave a Comment