Belgaum under JNNURM


The Government is planning to extend the Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM) to some more cities in the country. It was proposed to include 28 cities/urban agglomerations with population of 5 lakh and above under the Urban Infrastructure and Governance (UIG) component of Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission(JNNURM).

Three cities in Karnataka under JNNURM will be




On account of resource constraints, these cities could not be included in UIG of JNNURM.

Public private partnership can play a significant role in supplementing Government’s efforts of building infrastructure in urban areas. JNNURM encourages urban local bodies to use public private partnership for this purpose.

This information was given by Shri Saugata Roy, Minister of State, Urban Development in reply to a question in Lok Sabha on 30th July 2010.


To get Instant and Live updates from AllAboutBelgaum please save this number 73386 16624 and send a msg on WhatsApp START AAB.


  1. Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission is a massive city modernisation scheme launched by Government of India. It envisages a total investment of over $20 billion over a period of 5–6 years. It is named after Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of Independent India.

    check the pdf:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here