belagavi news


Four brothers may contest polls:4 different parties

Photo of author

Source: The New Indian Express
Belgaums Blog with latest info of BelgaumFour brothers from a family in Gokak are set to contest the forthcoming Karnataka Assembly elections from different constituencies and different political parties.

According to sources, while Balchandra Jarkiholi, a former minister, is contesting from Arabhavi constituency of Gokak taluk on a JD(S) ticket, Dr Bhimashi Jarkiholi is contesting the election from Gokak constituency of the same taluk on a BJP ticket.

Lakhan Jarkiholi is planning to contest from Belgaum rural (earlier known as Bagewadi constituency) on a Congress party and Satish Jarkiholi, a sitting MLC, is likely to contest from the newly-formed Yamakanamardi (reserved for ST) constituency on a Congress ticket.

In the last elections, three of the Jarkiholi brothers succeeded in entering the Vidhan Soudha. While Balchandra won from Arabhavi, Ramesh Jarkiholi won from Gokak on a Congress ticket. Satish Jarkiholi entered the council as a JD(S) member. He later joined the Congress along with Siddaramaih.

Sources said that this time Ramesh Jarkiholi may not contest from Gokak constituency as it has been made General constituency. Congress may field a Lingayat candidate from Gokak constituency as Lingayats have brought a pressure on the high command to allot ticket for a Lingayat candidate as the constituency is dominated by Lingayats.

Dr Bhimashi Jarkiholi confirmed that he has already started campaigning in Gokak constituency. Balchandra Jarkiholi also said that he is concentrating on Arabhavi constituency which had given him a good lead in the last elections.

Lakhan Jarkiholi said that he is planning to come over to Belgaum rural and said the party has promised him a ticket. Satish Jarkiholi was not available for comment.

2 thoughts on “Four brothers may contest polls:4 different parties”

Leave a Comment