COVID vaccine Dry Run tomorrow

Photo of author

In view of the COV1D 19 vaccine introduction, the Government of India has planned vaccination of healthcare workers and front-line workers as the initial priority groups. All the healthcare workers from government and private have already been enlisted and uploaded as per instructions of the Government of India.

As per Government of India, a Nationwide Dry run will be conducted on 2nd January 2021.

A dry run for Covid-19 vaccination will be conducted in five districts – Bengaluru, Mysuru, Belagavi, Shivamogga and Kalaburagi – on Saturday.

Vantamuri urban PHC, Kittur community health centre, and general hospital in Hukkeri will conduct the dry run in the Belagavi district.

person aspirating the vaccine from the vial
Photo by Artem Podrez on

Each site will be manned by five members comprising a medical officer (doctor), two vaccinating officers (one male and female), a data entry operator (who will verify documents and upload data online) and a security officer.

In each district three session sites i.e. one session site at District level, one at Taluka Level and one at PHC level are chosen for Dry run. After the Dry run feedback will be collected from those session sites of each district.

The Dry run will be an exercise for end to end testing COVID-19 vaccination process felt (except actual vaccination) and will include:

• Planning & preparations including prerequisites for vaccine introduction as per the Operational Guidelines and use of CoWIN portal

• Uploading beneficiary, and session sites details

• Verification of documents at session sites

• Mock drill of beneficiary vaccination and reporting

Primary objectives of the Dry run exercise are:

• To assess operational feasibility of using Co-WIN application in field environment

• To test linkages between planning, implementation and reporting mechanisms: • To identify challenges and guide way forward prior to actual implementation

• To provide confidence to program managers at various levels

Feedback will be collected from the session sites of each district after the Dry tun and communicated to Government of India.

Leave a Comment