High court permanent bench in Dharwad


The Union Cabinet today gave its approval for the establishment of permanent benches of the Karnataka High Court at Dharwad and Gulbarga. Establishment of Permanent Benches of the Karnataka High Court at Dharwad and Gulbarga would facilitate better access for justice to litigants of the Districts, covered under the jurisdiction of the Dharwad and Gulbarga Benches. It will also help in speedy disposal of cases with consequent reduction in pendency in the High Court. 

The Principal Bench is at Bangalore. Two circuit Benches were notified at Dharwad and Gulbarga and these have been functioning since 7th July, 2008. The State had a sanctioned strength of 41 Judges in 2008 and it has now been increased to 50 Judges with effect from 30th November, 2009. Out of them, 6 or 7 Judges are currently sitting at the Circuit Bench at Dharwad and 4-3 Judges are sitting at the Circuit Bench at Gulbarga on rotation basis.
The proposal to make the Circuit Benches permanent has been approved by both the State Government and Chief Justice of the High Court. 

The Dharwad bench will deal with cases from Bagalkot, Bellary, Belgaum, Dharwad, Gadag, Haveri, Uttar Kannada and Koppal districts.



To get Instant and Live updates from AllAboutBelgaum please save this number 73386 16624 and send a msg on WhatsApp START AAB.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here