belagavi news


IMA Belagavi stage protest against Government notification

Photo of author

Team of Doctors of Indian Medical Association, Belagavi branch submitted a memorandum to Hon’ble Prime Minister of India through Deputy Commissioner of Belagavi on 8th Dec, 2020. It was part of Nationwide protest by various IMA branches. The memorandum has taken an objection to allow certain select surgical procedures to be performed by Ayurveda doctors of Shalya Tantra.

The gazette notification issued by the Central Council of Indian Medicine (CCIM), a statutory body under the AYUSH Ministry, specifies, a total of 58 surgical procedures that PG scholars of Shalya Tantra can perform encompassing specialties of Surgery, Orthopaedics, ENT, Ophthalmology & Dental surgeries. Allowing PG students to perform the defined surgeries after completion of their PG Degree (Ayurveda), the notification of 20th November has irked IMAs across the country.

The IMAs across the nation have taken strong objection to the notification of allowing Ayur doctors to perform surgical procedures. IMA Belgaum memorandum calls it as a retrograde step of unscientific mixing of system of medicine which will produce hybrid doctors and will not be at par with the medical specialists of modern medicine. The memorandum also highlights the repercussions of such a step will endanger the safety of public health.


The memorandum demands for maintaining the legacy & sanctity of each system of medicine and safeguard purest form of these ancient treasures.

The memorandum demands;

  1. No to Mixopathy
  2. IMA demands purity of all the different systems of Medicine
  3. Research & Development should happen in their respective fields of medicine and each should follow their system of medicine.

The IMA appealed to Government of India to either scrap or thoroughly modify the Government Order for the greater benefits to the community.

The IMA protest was lead by Dr. Anil Patil, President, Dr. Devagouda, Secretary, Dr. A S Godhi, Former Principal, J N Medical College, Dr. Sashikant Kulgod, Dr.Ravidnra Angol, Dr. Sudhir Bhat, Dr. Vijay Patil, Dr. Yalaburgi, member of ASI & IMA members were present in the protest.

Leave a Comment