belagavi news


Major traffic plan drawn up for six cities: Belgaum included

Photo of author


A comprehensive traffic and transport plan (CTTP) is being formulated for the tier II cities in Karnataka. The cities for which the CTTP is being framed are Mysore, Mangalore, Belgaum, Hubli- Dharwad, Bellary and Gulbarga, which are administered by municipal corporations. The plans are being drafted on the directions of the Directorate for Urban Land Transport.

The objective of the CTTP is to prepare transport and traffic plans for the six major urban centres with the estimated costs, keeping in mind the growth of those cities over the next 20 years.

The CTTP will be based on the land utilization master plans prepared by the city authorities concerned and will ensure cost-effective and convenient transport, and traffic facility with speed and better comfort, which would ensure an orderly growth of the urban areas. The CTTP will prescribe short-term, medium and long-term transportation policies based on technical, economic and financial evaluation.


Leave a Comment