belagavi news


Wise Riders – Street plays create awareness

Photo of author

Rotary Club of Belgaum, which recently entered its 75th. year of selfless service to the citizens of Belagavi has taken up, as its Thrust Program for the 2015-2016 year, a multi-faceted Traffic Safety and Awareness Program titled “WiseRiders”.

wise-riders belagavi To date, 40 seminars have been held across 8 educational institutions. Many more will be held in the months to come. In addition, testimonials of actual experiences of citizens have been recorded and made available for viewing via online platforms such as FaceBook, WhatsApp, and Twitter. These platforms have also been utilized to engage with thousands of fellow citizens to propagate ideas about road safety including “Road Signs”, “Road Diaries”, etc. Many Traffic Safety related competitions were conducted during the recently concluded Annotsav. Also, a Traffic Safety video to be shown in movie theatres has also been readied.

The next step in our multi-pronged approach to save lives of our citizens is staging of “Wise Riders – Street Play” across various points in Belagavi over a period of a month starting from 29/January/2016 and ending on 6/Mar/2016.

Street Plays are powerful method of creating awareness about the social issues through a play/act performed on the Street which involves theatre. Via Street Plays we plan to spread awareness among people of Belgaum about ‘Traffic Rules and On Road Behavior’ through our Street Play ‘Wise Riders’. We expect it to make people think about their role while driving and act to follow Traffic Rules and show good On Road Behavior

The Script and Music have been written by Mr. Nandan Herlekar, while the direction has been done by Mrs. Swati Kulkarni. Sound Recording is by Mr. Snehal Jadhav, Tabla Accompanist is Mr. Hrishikesh Herlekar and Music & Light System is by Prabhu & Co. Rotary Community Corps (RCC) Members Mr. Vijay More, Mr. Sandeep Bhatkande, Mr. Balkrishna Patil, Mr. Deepak Pawar & Mr. Mahesh Patil will assist in staging these plays.

List of artists

Mr. Ameya Patankar, Mr. Raj Lengade, Mr. Abhishek Kumar Bharti, Mr. Kartik Kumar Choudhary,Mr. Abhijeet Deshpande, Mr. Jitendra Redekar,Mr. Tejas Bellubbi, Miss Sanjeevini Gurjar,Miss Apeksha Birje, Miss Akshata Hegde, Miss Manasi Desai, Miss Nivedita Ankalgi, Mrs. Preeta Kudale, Mrs. Luvina Dharmdas.

Leave a Comment