belagavi news


Yallappa Kurbar Belgaum Mayor: Jyoti Bhavikatti Dy.Mayor: Kannada group

Photo of author

Kurbar Yallappa Sidarai
Kurbar Yallappa Sidarai



Kurbar Yallappa Sidarai of Ward No.57 (Kanbargi, Ahsraya Colony) has been elected the Mayor of Belgaum


 Jyoti Rajshekhar Bhavikatti (Ward 53) has been elected the Deputy mayor.

Jyoti Rajshekhar Bhavikatti
Jyoti Rajshekhar Bhavikatti




 This is for the 3rd time that Belgaum is seeing a Kannada Mayor. Earlier in 1994 & 2008 Belgaum had seen Kannada mayors and all the rest years there were Marathi Mayors.

 The Marathi group which was supposed to be a surprise winner this time could not make up the magic figure of 32, there are 27 Marathi corporators.

To the common man what difference does it make anyways? Every year one mayor is elected but what does that Mayor do for Belgaum or has done for Belgaum is the question.

Leave a Comment