belagavi news


Neena Sports emerge Champion of Adv Anil Benake Trophy Cricket tournament

Photo of author

benakefinalNeena Sports emerged Winners of 3rd Adv Anil Benake Trophy All India Cricket tournament held at Sardar High School ground. All round Neena Sports thrashed P J Sports in the finals by 8 wickets. The match was played of 2 Innings.

P J Sports won the toss and decided to bat first. But P J sports were restricted for only 68 runs in 12 overs for the loss of 8 wickets in their first innings by Neena Sports. Devraj Koti scored 28 runs with 4 boundaries, Narendra Mangore scored 16 runs with one six. For Neena Sports Sonya Kunzir picked up 3, Ajaz Qureshi and Abhijeet Dudhey both picked up 2 wickets each. In reply Neena Sports scored 112 runs for the loss 7 wickets in 12 overs with Ajaz Qureshi thrashing the ball to all parts of ground scored 36 runs in 18 balls with 4 fours and 2 sixes, Avinash Ramgude scored 25 runs with 3 fours and Babu Patil scored 12 runs. For P J Sports Narfendra Mangore picked up 4 wickets. Neena Sports took a lead of 45 runs in the first Innings.

Batsmen of P J Sports failed in second Innings also as they were bundled out for 70 runs in 11 overs. Arjun Bhosale scored 31 runs with 2 fours and 3 sixes and Devraj Koti scored 10 runs. For Neena Sports Afzal Makhdum and Sonya Kunzir picked up 3 wickets each, Abhijeet Dudhey picked up 2 and Ajaz Qureshi picked up one wicket. Neena Sports needed only 26 runs to win as they had a handy lead of 45 runs in the first. Neena Sports reached the target of 26 runs in just 3.3 overs for the loss of 2 wickets thus winning the lopsided finals by 8 wickets and 8.3 overs to spare.Jay Nazar scored unbeaten 13 runs. For P J Sports Ali Unkal and Mukesh Shinde picked up one wicket each.

Ajaz Qureshi was declared the Man of the final. He also was awarded the Man of the Series award. Devraj Koti was declared the Best Batsman of the tournament. Ali Unkal was declared the Best Bowler of the tournament. Ramchandra Mannolkar Sports were declared the Disciplined team of the tournament. Chief guest M P Suresh Angadi, Ex MLA Abhay Patil, Adv Anil Benake, Laxman Pawar and Kedar Ghasari gave away the awards to the Winners and Runners Up teams.

1 thought on “Neena Sports emerge Champion of Adv Anil Benake Trophy Cricket tournament”

Leave a Comment