South Zone Aquatic Championship in Belagavi opens

Photo of author

The 29th South Zone Aquatic Championship 2016 commenced on 6th January 2017 and at the newly constructed International standard Swimming pool at Suvarna JNMC, with support from KLE Society and affiliation from Karnataka Swimming Association (KSA).

This South Zone Aquatic Championship was first introduced in the year 1989 by Karnataka Swimming Association to promote young talent from all the southern states giving swimmers one more opportunity to participate in a major competition during the end of the swimming season.

swimmingNearly 550 swimmers and water polo players with the support of officials from the 6 southern states, i.e. Tamilnadu, Kerela, Telangana, Pondicherry, Andra Pradesh and the host state Karnataka. Gold and Silver medal winners of each south zone state tournament will participate in this Aquatic Championship to represent their states in their respective events.

The inaugural function began with the KSA flag hoisting by Dr V.D Patil followed by a march past of swimmers and water polo players from all 6 states to depict team spirit, sportsmanship and a sense of belongingness to the respective states they represent. The event was addressed by our chief Guest Dr V.D Patil and Mr. Neelkant Jagdale where they motivated the swimmers and applauded the parents for their constant support.

Miss Mayuri Lingaraj, National Champion and International medalist had the honor of leading the oath taking ceremony along with the team captains of each state. We had the honor of releasing the first ever press release of KSA newsletter at this inaugural function at the hands of Dr V. D Patil. The vote of thanks was proposed by Mr. Indrajeet Halgekar at this prestigious event.

To add to this merriment, two swimmers of Swimmers Club Belgaum bagged 1 gold, 1 silver and 1 bronze medals on this first day. Miss Krizana Irani bagged a gold medal in 100 mts backstroke and silver medal in 200 mts Individual medley. Mr Samar Killekar bagged the bronze medal in 200 mts Individual Medley.

0 thoughts on “South Zone Aquatic Championship in Belagavi opens”

Leave a Comment