belagavi news


In 1951 Belgaum had two Parliamentary seats Belgaum North and South

Photo of author

In the first Parliamentary elections held in 1951, Seven MPs from Belgaum, Dharwad, Bijapur and Karwar districts had represented Bombay Province.

There were 7 parliamentary constituencies for the 4 districts including our Belgaum North and Belgaum south.  All those seats were of the Congress.


In 1956 after the states reorganization was done these 4 districts came under Mysore state and first elections were held in 1957 for Belgaum as a constituency.


Leave a Comment