belagavi news


Only 7 out of 37 candidates could save their deposits

Photo of author

Only 7 out of the 37 candidates who contested the THREE Belgaum constituencies namely, North, south and Rural could save their deposit.

According to  Section 158 of the Representation of the People Act,1951 a sum of  Rs.5000/- in the case of an election from an Assembly Constituency. (The amount of deposit is half in the case of a candidate belonging to a scheduled Caste or Scheduled Tribe) is taken as a security deposit by the Election Commission.
And as per the above rules – “any candidate who gets less than 1/6th of the total votes polled will have his/her security deposit forfeited by the Commission.”

According to this rule in Belgaum Rural only Sanjay Patil, Manohar Kinekar and Laxmi Hebbalkar could save their deposit.
In Belgaum South Sambhaji Patil and Abhay Patil were able to save their deposit, while in Belgaum North Fairoz Saith and Renu Killekar could save their deposit.

This means the deposit of 30 candidates in the fray could not even get 1/6th of the Votes and hence their deposit was forfeited 


2 thoughts on “Only 7 out of 37 candidates could save their deposits”

Leave a Comment