belagavi news


B Shankaranand passes away

Photo of author


B Shankaranand (84) former Union minister and veteran Congress leader died at a private hospital here in the wee hours today following cardiac arrest.

The body has been kept his residence in Belgaum city to enable people pay their homage. The last rites on his body will be performed at his native Kanagala of Hukkeri taluk tomorrow morning.

Shankaranand, is survived by two sons and five daughters. A Gandhi family loyalist, he was an eight time Lok Sabha MP from Chikkodi Reserved Constituency. He had served in the ministries headed by Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi and P V Narasimha Rao.

Positions held








May, 1971 to March, 1977





Jan., 1980 to Oct., 1980


Dec, 1984 to Sept., 1985

Oct., 1980 to Oct., 1984

Nov., 1984 to Dec, 1984 1984

Sept., 1985 to Aug. 1987 and June, 1988 to July, 1989

26 Aug., 1986

June, 1988 to July, 1989


July, 1989 to Dec, 1989

25 Sept., 1990


Municipal Corporation, Belgaum

Elected to Lok Sabha (Fourth)

Member, Consultative Committee, Foreign Trade

Member, Consultative Committee, Mines and Metals

Member, AICC

General Secretary, C.P.P.

President, D.C.C. later DCC (I) Belgaum, Karnataka

Re-elected lo Lok Sabha (Fifth)

Member, Committee on Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes

Member, Committee on Subordinate Legislation

Member, Business Advisory Committee

Member, Committee of Privileges

Union Deputy Minister, Parliamentary Affairs

Deputy Chief Whip, CPP(I)

Elected to Lok Sabha (Sixth) for the third time

Chief Whip, CPP(I)

Elected to Lok Sabha (Seventh) for the fourth time

Union Minister, Education, Health and Family Welfare

Member, Working Committee, AICC(I)

Union Minister, Irrigation and Power

Union Deputy Minister, Health and Family Welfare

Elected lo Lok Sabha (Eighth) for the fifth time

Union Minister, Water Resources

Chairman, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Bofors

Union Minister, Law and Justice

Elected to Lok Sabha (Ninth) for the sixth time

Union Minisiter, Law and Justice

Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Planning and Programme Implementation, Member, Consultative Committee constituted under the Punjab State Legislature (Delegation of Powers) Act, 1987, Jan. 29, 1990.

Member, Committee of Privileges

Elected to Lok Sabha (Tenth) for the seventh time

Union Minister, Petroleum and Natural Gas

Leave a Comment