belagavi news


Belagavi qualifies to introduce electric buses under PM-eBus Sewa Scheme

Photo of author

By uday

The State government informed the Legislative Council on Wednesday that 11 cities in the State have met the requirements to implement electric buses under the PM-eBus Sewa Scheme. These cities include Mysuru, Mangaluru, Davangere, Shivamogga, Tumakuru, Belagavi, Hubballi, Dharwad, Kalaburagi, Ballari, and Vijayapura.

The KSRTC has requested 350 buses, with 100 buses each for Mysuru and Mangaluru, and 50 buses each for Davangere, Shivamogga, and Tumakuru. The NWKRTC has requested 210 buses, with 100 buses for Belagavi and 110 buses for Hubballi-Dharwad.

The KKRTC wants 235 buses, with 100 buses for Kalaburagi, 55 buses for Bellari, and 80 buses for Vijayapura. The Minister stated that the proposals received by the corporations are currently being reviewed.

According to the Union government, the PM-eBus Sewa Scheme aims to enhance India’s electric mobility infrastructure. The scheme provides support for the deployment of 10,000 electric buses in 169 cities across the country through a Central outlay of ₹20,000 crores, following a public-private partnership model. The estimated cost of the scheme is ₹57,613 crore, with ₹20,000 crore of support provided by the Union government.


The scheme will cover bus operations for 10 years and will include cities with a population of three lakh or more, based on the 2011 census. This includes all capital cities of Union Territories, the North Eastern Region, and hill States. Priority will be given to cities that currently lack an organized bus service.

Overall, the State government has identified 11 cities that meet the criteria for implementing electric buses under the PM-eBus Sewa Scheme.

Leave a Comment