Countdown to Bye Elections of Belagavi Loksabha seat

Photo of author

Election Commission of India is yet to announce a bye-election to the Belagavi Lok Sabha seat that fell vacant after the death of the former Union Minister Suresh Angadi on 23 September 2020.

As per section 151-A of the Representation of Peoples Act, 1956 the bye-election should commence within 6 months from the date of the vacancy. Hence in this case, by 23 March 2021, the election process must be completed.

Normally the announcement is 34-35 days in advance keeping in mind the last date of 23 March 2021 in this case.

So we can expect the Election commission to announce the poll schedule soon in the coming 10 days or so (Feb 20 or even before).

loksabha 2019

Dr Sanjeev Kumar, Chief Election Commissioner Karnataka told the media after a review meeting with the officials regarding preparation for holding the bye-election to the Lok Sabha seat on Tuesday.

EVM checking, staff selection, training preparation was being made ready. This time the Election Commission will provide Ballot paper to the COVID-19 patients and voters above 80-years and Handicap voters.

Political developments related to the bye-election, however, have begun in the district long ago. The earliest trends suggest that the number of aspirants in the BJP outnumber those in the Congress or the Janata Dal(S).

Some of the name making rounds as aspirants –
BJP: Shradha Angadi, Dr.Girish Sonwalkar, Dr. Ravi Patil, Dr. Sonali Sarnobat, Jagdish Shettar, Krishna Bhat,  Amarnath Jarkiholi, Amarsinh Patil, Ramesh Katti, Prabhakar Kore

Congress: Prakash Hukkeri, Lakshmi Hebbalkar, Satish Jarkhiholi, Chennaraj Hattiholi,

0 thoughts on “Countdown to Bye Elections of Belagavi Loksabha seat”

  1. I hope BJP does not endorse Dynasty politics by fielding the deceased MP’s daughter.
    We have many capable contenders for the job and this is an opportunity for BJP to bring in a new face, young leader to the arena.

  2. I have been following Dr.. Sonali Sarnobat’s work pretty closely and believe she is a strong candidate.

    Apart from being an eminent homoeopath and a lucid speaker in the medical & cultural arena, she is the GC member of Lalitkala Academy, New Delhi & member of Animal Welfare Board, Govt of Karnataka. Her NGO – Niyathi Foundation works relentlessly to educate youngsters against suicide. Her weekly videos on healthcare in local channels are eagerly watched by the general public. She organized women in and surrounding villages of Belgaum. And has been instrumental in inflencing administration offices to be shifted to bgm.

    Multi faceted personality and active contribution for Belagavi people.

  3. Yes, correct.
    I guess the ticket will be given to former MLA of bailhongal, Dr. Vishwanath I Patil.
    He did a lot of work in last elections supporting late Suresh Angadi.

  4. I think bjp will not neglect the person who as always contributed good thinks to society such leader to be bring even he is a capable candidate mr promod mutallik ji and our mp daughter shardhaji


Leave a Comment