belagavi news


EGIS to make new Master plan in 6 months

Photo of author

The deadline for making the new Master plan for Belagavi city is March 2021.
The work order for the same has been given to EGIS India. Egis is an international group with presence in over a 100 countries, offering engineering, project structuring and operations services. In engineering and consulting its sectors of activity include transport, urban development, building, industry, water, environment and energy.

A GIS based

Master Plan/Development Plan is the major tool for urban land management, providing detailed landuse allocation for the sustainable development of city/town. Most master/development plans are made for 20-year periods, in phases of five years for periodic review and revision.

The most crucial information for formulation of Master Plan is an accurate and updated Base Map of the planning area, showing roads and building layouts, spatial extent of development and information on the use of each parcel of land etc.

Under the National Urban Information System (NUIS) Scheme, urban GIS database for 152 towns was prepared using 2.5m (Cartosat-1+LISS-IV) remote sensing images. This GIS database has been hosted on ISRO’s geo-spatial platform Bhuvan and a web-based GIS (Bhuvan-NUIS) for accessing, editing and managing the database was developed. NUIS Scheme has provided the basic foundation for understanding and experiencing the utilisation of remote sensing & GIS technologies for urban base and thematic mapping and GIS database creation.

mastrplan arut

Government of India launched Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) in 2015 as Centrally Sponsored Scheme with To develop common digital geo-referenced base maps and land use maps using Geographical Information System (GIS) and Master Plan Formulation for 500 cities that are selected as AMRUT Cities.

Work order has been issued to EGIS India on September 4 but with the deadline to finish the work by March 2021 the company will get only 6 months to finish the work.

28 new villages will be added under BUDA.

Leave a Comment