SWR conducts Zonal Railway Users Consultative Committee

Photo of author

The 22 meeting of the Zonal Railway Users Consultative Committee on South Western Railway was held at Hubballi. The meeting was chaired by General Manager, Shri Sanjeev Kishore.

The meeting is convened for better representation of railway users and for consultation between Railway Administration and users on matters relating to the services provided by Rallways. In today’s meeting, issues and concerns pertaining to passenger amenities, train service and Infrastructure Development were discussed in detail.

General Manager Shri Sanjeev Kishore mentioned that SWR has performed well on several fronts. He highlighted several achievements such as launching of first Vande Bharat Express of South India between Mysuru and MGR Chennai Central by Hon’ble PM, redevelopment of several stations such as Belagavi, Hosapete, Davangere etc. He said station development Bengaluru Cantonment and Yesvantpur are also being undertaken. The punctuality of SWR stood at 94.10% placing SWR as the 4″ most punctual zone of the country.

He further mentioned that 83 number of special trains run and 1798 number of additional coaches were added for the convenience of the passengers during festival and holiday seasons. He further elaborated upon infrastructure development projects and assured that SWR is leaving no stone unturned in adding new line, doubling and electrification. He mentioned that already 52% of SWR network is already electrified.

317505229 506546611499209 1642358040486724505 n

Members were also briefed about various issues related to passenger amenities, Infrastructure development, train services like additional stoppage, increase in frequency of trains and construction of ROBS/RUBS.

Shri Shivkumar Udasi, Hon’ble MP, Haveri, Shri P.C. Gaddigoudar, Hon’ble MP, Bagalkot, Shri Iranna Kadadi, Hon’ble MP Rajya Sabha, Shri Nilesh Cabral, Hon’ble Minister of Public Works, Legislative Affairs, Environment, Law and Judiciary, Govt. of Goa and 30 members representing Chambers of Commerce, Passenger associations, consumer protection organization, physically challenged associations and special interest representatives from Railway Board participated in the meeting.

Leave a Comment