belagavi news


Welcome to Belagavi

Photo of author

belgaum salute
Belgaum officially becomes Belagavi along with 11 other cities from today, November 1, 2014.

12 of Karnataka’s major towns and cities revert to their old Kannada names after the Union Home Ministry this month cleared a proposal made by the state nine years ago.

The new names of other cities are: Ballari for Bellary, Hubballi (Hubli), Tumakuru (Tumkur), Vijapura (Bijapur), Chikkamagaluru (Chikmagalur), Kalaburagi (Gulbarga), Hosapete (Hospet) and Shivamogga (Shimoga).

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Belagavi”

  1. Change of name should not be as per comfort of political game… it’s comfort of people to communicate freely… it will come out heart as it is…!


Leave a Comment