belagavi news


Belgaum Sports Club in playoffs, Varadraj Potdar Vijaya prevail over Neena Sai

Photo of author

bcl belgaumBelgaum Sports Club made it to playoffs in style thrashing Royal Challengers Belgaum by 10 wickets in the P D Dhotre Foundation Belgaum Champions League Cricket tournament organized by Bhatkande Sports Academy being held at Union Gymkhana. Varadraj Potdar Vijaya after losing 2 matches came in the tournament with a fluent win over Neena Sai Sports by 6 wickets.

In the first match today batting first after winning the toss RCB decided to bat, but their batsmen struggled on the dicy wicket and were bundled out for a paltry 94 runs in 21.1 overs with Tejas Pawar emerging the wrecker in chief with 5 wickets, Gourav Thorat picked up 3, Nizamuddin Londewale and Noel D’Mello picking up one wicket each. For RCB Sarfaraz Khatib and Don Lobo scored 22 runs each, Shahbaz Bojgar scored 10 runs. In reply Skipper Tejas Pawar and Rohan Kadam toiled with RCB bowlers and ensured 10 wicket win reaching the target in just 10.4 overs with Tejas Pawar scoring 51 runs off 34 balls with 2 sixes and 6 fours and Rohan Kadam scored 38 with 6 boundaries. Teajs Pawar was declared the Man of the Match. Chief guest Adv Ratan Masekar, Chandrakant Hasalikar, Milind Bhatkande gave away the award.

In the second match today Varadraj Potdar Vijaya defeated Neena Sai Sports by 6 wickets. Batting first after winning the toss Neena Sai Sports were restricted to 119 runs for 9 in 22 overs with some tight bowling by the spinners on a slow track. Vinayak Kamble scored unbeaten 22, Devraj Koti 20, Chetan Pangire and Tousif Peerzade scored 13 runs each. Raju Patil picked up 3, Himanshu Joshi 2, Ravindra Rawat, Rahul Naik and Toufiq Inamdar picked up one wicket each. In reply Varadraj Potdar Vijaya romped home in 19.1 overs for the loss of 4 wickets. Nilesh Patil topscored with unbeaten 40 runs with 2 fours and one six, Wasim Dhamnekar 22, Skipper Rahul Naik remained unbeaten 21 and Milind Chavan scored 13 runs. Nilesh and Rahul ensured the win with unbeaten 54 runs partnership for fifth wicket. For Neena Sai Ramnath Kale picked up 2 and Devraj Koti, Nasir Pathan took one wicket each. Nilesh Patil was asjudjed the Man of the Match. Chief guest Adv Sudhir Chavan, Mohan Muttangi, Subhash Betgeri, Deepak Jadhav, Rajesh Jadhav and S M Naik gave away the award.

Leave a Comment